Uncategorized

9/31/2012

The hot sun

beating through my hair 

my black feet resting

on the filthy pavement 

dogs barking

cars passing 

I crunch leaves in my hand

I want to run

run until I see nothing

no cars 

no houses

no faces 

I want to escape

I want to find myself 

in a place 

where only the [eternal beauty of emptiness] is found

why can’t I go there now?

 

I believe I wrote this shortly before or shortly after having a particular spiritual experience that changed the direction of my life – ultimately leading to this moment, where you can read this poem online. It’s capturing these moments of raw intensity – in a poem – that give us a peak of what it is like to be willing to go all the way. Namaste 🙏

*brackets are mine, a recent edit, where originally the word was just, “beauty”; I changed it to “eternal beauty of emptiness” to hint at what was brewing within me*

Standard

Leave a comment